

# Meeting Minutes June 1<sup>st</sup>, 2023 @ 11:00am Hybrid Meeting conducted In-person & via WebEx

Ex-Officio Members	Name	Present In Person (IP) Virtual (V) Phone (PH)	Absent
Co-Chair, Human Rights	Jim Bennett, IDHR Director	IP	
Designee	Donna Hardy	IP	
Co-Chair, Human Services	Grace Hou, IDHS Secretary		А
Designee	Dulce Quintero	V	
Attorney General	Kwame Raoul		А
Attorney General	Judith Levitan		А
Central Management Services	Simone McNeil, Director		А
Designee	Vacant		
Civil Service Commission	Timothy D. Sickmeyer, Chairman		А
Designee	Andrew Barris	PH	
Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities	Kimberly Mercer-Schleider, Director	V	
Designee	Margie Harkness	V	
Designee	Mariel Hamer-Sinclair		А
Lt. Governor	Juliana Stratton		А
Designee	Eryn Jones	V	
Secretary of State	Alexi Giannoulias		А
Designee	Bill Bogdan	PH	
State Comptroller	Susana A. Mendoza		А
Designee	Kevin Derrig		А
State Treasurer	Michael Frerichs		А
Designee	Rosemary Laudani	V	
Veterans Affairs	Terry Prince, Director		А
Designee	Matt Eddington	V	
Employees with Disabilities	·		•
Central Management Services	Glenn Minks	V	
Department of Employment Security	Elizabeth Grace		А
Department of Human Services	Nathan Painter	V	
Department of Human Services	Rahnee Patrick	IP	
Illinois State Board of Education	Lori Clampitt	IP	
Vacant			
Vacant			
Other Attendees			
Central Management Services	Brandon Singer		Α
Central Management Services	Mark Mahoney		А

Department of Employment Security	Anna D'Ascenzo	V	
Department of Human Rights	Chet Pinski	V	
Department of Human Rights	Alex Bautista		А
Department of Human Rights	Betsey Madden		А
Department of Human Rights	Chris Smith		А
Department of Human Rights	Bryant Dunbar	V	
Department of Human Rights	Jayden Epps	V	
Department of Human Rights	Besty Buttell	V	
Department of Human Rights	Victoria Villalpando	V	
Department of Human Services	Casey Burke	V	
Department of Human Services	Marcus Deamer		А
Department of Human Services	Caronina Grimble	V	
Department of Information Technology	Vickie Simpson	V	
Illinois Council on Developmental Disabilities	Dennis Deany	V	
Illinois Deaf and Hard of Hearing Commission	Benro Ogunyipe	V	
Illinois Tollway	Sharon Ferguson		А
Illinois Tollway	Colleen Hooker	V	
Office of Equity	Addie Shrodes		А
State Treasurer	JJ Hanley	V	
State Treasurer	Stephanie Kanter	V	

## 1. Call to Order

A. Director Bennett called the meeting to order at 11:03am on June 1, 2023

## 2. Roll Call

- A. Donna Hardy conducted Roll Call
- B. Quorum established

#### 3. Approval of Minutes from April 27, 2023

- A. Motion to approve minutes: Nathan Painter
- B. Motion seconded: Glen Minks
- C. All in favor

## 4. Co-Chair Remarks

- A. Director Bennett
  - Springfield Pride Parade was a great success. Director Bennett thanked all who attended. He specifically acknowledged members of ICED who attended: Glen Minks, Kimberly Mercer-Schleider and son.
  - Director encouraged members to participate in the upcoming Chicago Pride Parade, Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>. There will be T-shirts and other gifts for those who participate. Attendees will also have giveaways to handout along the parade route. Sign Up information was made available at: <u>https://forms.office.com/g/c01LLDMnQV</u>
  - iii. Today's meeting will primarily focus on the 2023 ICED Goals and the creation of subcommittees.
  - iv. Rahnee Patrick was introduced as Acting Co-Chair on behalf of Secretary Ho.

#### 5. New Business

- A. Welcome New ICED Members
  - i. Dulce Quintero, Assistant Secretary for Operations, IDHS. They introduced themselves and shared both personal and professional insights about their work and commitment to the disability community.
  - ii. Lori Clampitt, Specialized Education, ISBE. She shared both personal and professional insights about her work and about her commitment to the disability community.
  - iii. Director thanked them for their commitment and acknowledged the breadth of experience they both bring to the Committee.
- B. Recognition of the passing of Matt Abrahamson
  Matt had been a long-term member of ICED. He was very active and served with enthusiasm and passion. He was a Governor appointee, who was a champion of disability rights. Matt was a dedicated public servant. He will be greatly missed.
- C. Donna Hardy 2023 Goals and Subcommittee Assignments. We had planned to have breakout rooms for each of the subcommittees. We hoped to provide members an opportunity to introduce themselves, elect a chairperson and discuss their goals but due to technical difficulties we were unable to do so. Members were encouraged to move forward with meetings in the months of June and July.

Here are the following subcommittees and current members;

- i. Subcommittees
  - Develop and Implement Awareness Campaign for ICED
    Purpose: Create statewide awareness campaign to generate interest, engagement and build community.
    - i. Betsey Buttell
    - ii. Dulce Quintero
    - iii. Elizabeth Grace
    - iv. Kevin Derrig
    - v. Lori Clampitt
    - vi. Victoria Villalpando
  - b. Build an On-line Community and Resource Portal

Purpose: Expand ICED Website to build a content rich website that addresses the needs and concerns of the disability community.

- i. Rahnee Patrick
- ii. Stephanie Kanter
- iii. Glen Minks
- iv. Eryn Jones
- v. Jayden Epps
- c. Create Interagency Equipment and RA Transference Process

Purpose: Ensure equipment and other reasonable accommodations immediately follow Employees with disabilities upon transfer to another agency.

- i. Brandon Singer
- ii. Nathan Painter
- iii. Bill Bogdan
- iv. Kimberly Mercer-Schleider
- v. Margie Harkness
- vi. Chet Pinski
- vii. Bryant Dunbar
- viii. Anna D'Ascenzo
- ix. Arthur Sutton

## 6. Old Business

- A. Donna Hardy Committee Updates
  - i. Hiring Process Review and Outreach No Updates. This committee will more than likely dissolve because of current subcommittee goals.
  - ii. Member Nominations Lori Clampitt has filled one of the State Employee vacancies. We currently have one candidate being vetted and another by end of June.
  - iii. Annual Awards Ceremony volunteers needed for first meeting in June.

## 7. Public Comment

A. None

## 8. 2023 ICED Meeting Schedule

All 2023 Meetings (besides October): 11:00am-12:30pm with hybrid attendance option

- A. August 3<sup>rd</sup>
- B. October 5<sup>th</sup> (Annual Celebration Event, Springfield 12:00pm-1:00pm)
- C. December 14<sup>th</sup>

### 9. Adjournment

- A. Motion to Adjourn: Kimberly Mercer-Schleider
- B. Motion Seconded: Matt Eddington
- C. None opposed
- D. Meeting adjourned at 11:40am on June 1, 2023